10 Kms, baby!

​Clearly after running, neither do I know my pluras nor can I punchuate.
10 Kms, baby! I am a Pink Sister.😊
So last week I didn’t even know what a (runner’s) bib was, and today I wore one and did my first registered 10 km run in Pinkathon!

(In marathon the chest number or running number used to identify the runners is attached on the chest/stomach is called (runner’s) bib.

So I’m on my fitness journey with Nike and my goal is to run 15 Kms by the 1st of Jan. ( I know but 31st is New Years, I have no bloody social life!)

I’m on this journey now since a month and I have done 9 Kms which is my maximum distance I covered. I have run 2.5 Kms without stopping consistently. 

I am ashtamatic and this is what stops me from most of my runs. Not even my knee injury that I had. It’s not my legs that give in, it’s my lungs. How can you move forward if you’re simply trying to gasp for breathe? 

Yesterday, I got an attack during my 5 K run. One of my worst attacks during my running. I couldn’t even walk. Every time I tried to run I would start getting stitches. Then then I would start wheezing. Breathing, something so natural for everyone is the most difficult thing for me. I wanted to rip open my lungs and fill some air in. I was so frustrated with myself and so angry because here I couldn’t do even 5 kms, 15 was simply a dream. During the end of my run I started crying, I have been too over ambitious and immidiately, I started putting myself down. Telling myself I cannot do it and I will never be able to. 

During the whole day I was just famished and was extremely negative and just angry. I knew the next day I had to do 10 Kms for Pinkathon, I would just not be able to. It was impossible. My lungs would give up again. I automatically assumed the worst. 

I got up on Sunday at 4.30 am and I was nervous. But I spoke to my self. I told myself, “it’s okay, Natasha, do how much ever you can. Because you have just started running. You don’t have to prove anything to anyone or yourself. Just go have fun and be kind to yourself. Now do some deep breathing.”
I calmed myself 98%, 2% my anxiety was still kicking in.

But the rest of me was not having a panic attack. 
Guess what?
 I ran 10 Kms today. 5 kms non stop at a pace of  seven and a half minutes per km. I walked for about a km post that and ran the remaining time. But I ran for 10 Kms. My personal best time and distance. 
Self doubt can eat you alive. Muting the voices of self-doubt gremlins can be quite a feat. 

Do The Work! Overcome Resistance And Get Out Of Your Own Way.
Self-awareness is one of the most powerful personal development tools in your arsenal. Make use of it by understanding the root causes of your self-doubt. What specific situations trigger bouts of self-doubt? If it’s a lack of skill in an area, resolve to do something about it.

Practice Self-Compassion
While it’s easy to extend compassion to others, very few people are able to temper their self-criticism with self-compassion. Self-compassion is simply being kind to oneself.

 

When you fail at something that’s important to you, do you keep things in perspective, or do you become consumed by feelings of inadequacy? When something doesn’t go right, do you try to keep your emotions in balance?
Self-compassion develops emotional resilience. To become better at this; Notice your own suffering, especially when it’s caused by your self-judgment or self-criticism; don’t be cold-hearted toward yourself, and remember that imperfection is a part of our shared human experience. 
You can do anything you put your mind to. Stop making excuses. 
And remember, “Strength doesn’t come from what you can do it comes from overcoming the things you couldn’t do.”

Practise daily. Stay safe. Stay humble.🙏
#ColorsPinkathon #TheCauseisYou #PinkathonForever

Leave a Reply

